top of page


The recipient for the 2022-2023 Scholarship Award of $2,500 is Northern Michigan University Student Lindsey Walton. Lindsey is from Lathrup Village and is majoring in Political Science with a concentration in Pre-Law. Lindsey is also on Northern Michigan's Women's Hockey Team which competed at last year's ACHA National Competition. 


To donate to the NALS Scholarship Fund contact Kathy Hildendorf 

NALS of Michigan is proud to continue supporting students.  We thank you for your donation and for helping make this annual scholarship possible!

Applications for 2022-2023 Scholarship Award of $2,500 are now closed. Thank you to everyone who applied.

Scholarship Application and Rules and Procedures

2020-2021 Scholarship Winner

Mariya Primak

Mariya moved from the Ukraine to the United States at the age of fifteen. While mastering the English language, I graduated high school as a valedictorian, which earned her a presidential scholarship to Wayne State University.  After earning a bachelor's degree from Wayne State, she began working with troubled teenagers.  The satisfaction of helping others prompted her to change her career path and become a teacher.  She taught science and dance at an inner city school.  After a few years of teaching, I began working in the medical field both as a medical assistant and a translator.  Once again, I found the most joy advocating for others who were confused by the medical system or language.  Many of these people would talk about paperwork or legal issues, and she found herself spending more time talking to lawyers and studying the law.  The more she learned, the more she wanted to know.  Becoming a paralegal would immerse her in the legal profession and push her to improve my knowledge and skills while helping others.  her goal is to gain practical experience by working in real-time courtroom proceedings, managing paperwork, and communicating with lawyers and judges.

***Scholarship Award was not awarded in 2019-2020***

Mariya Primak Photo 2.jpg
bottom of page